Ireland Prime Minister Micheál Martin announced Friday that the government will introduce new coronavirus restrictions in three counties – Kildare, Laois and Offaly.

“We have already postponed key parts of the reopening plan and this evening, in response to the increased spread of the disease in counties Kildare, Laois, and Offaly, and acting on the very clear advice of public health officials, the government has decided to introduce a number of limited restrictions within those three counties for a period of two weeks, from midnight tonight,” Martin said Friday in a televised address.

In these three counties, “everyone should restrict their movements to within their own county except for the purposes of work and for other essential journeys,” he added.

Kildare is the county west of the Irish capital of Dublin. 

Some context: Over the past two weeks, at least 289 coronavirus cases have been reported in Kildare, Laois, and Offaly.

“These represent close to half of all cases detected in Ireland during that time,” the Irish Department on Health said Friday in a statement.

The department said on Twitter that as of Thursday, at least 1,772 coronavirus-related deaths and approximately 26,470 total coronavirus cases have been confirmed in the country.

Source : CNN


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.