The European Union published its list of countries to start lifting travel restrictions. The US is not on that list.

“Council agrees to start lifting travel restrictions for residents of some third countries,” a readout says.

Based on the criteria and conditions set out, starting tomorrow, member states should start lifting the travel restrictions at the external borders for residents of the following third countries:

  • Algeria
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay

China is also on the list, but subject to confirmation of reciprocity.

According to the readout, regarding the epidemiological situation, the countries on the list should meet the following criteria:

  • Number of new Covid-19 cases over the last 14 days and per 100,000 inhabitants close to or below the EU average (as it stood on June 15)
  • Stable or decreasing trend of new cases over this period in comparison to the previous 14 days
  • The countries’ overall response to Covid-19 taking into account available information, including on aspects such as testing, surveillance, contact tracing, containment, treatment and reporting, as well as the reliability of the information and, if needed, the total average score for International Health Regulations (IHR). Information provided by EU delegations on these aspects should also be taken into account.

The European Union said this list of countries allowed to enter the EU should be reviewed every two weeks and may be updated.

Source: CNN


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.