Singapore’s Ministry of Health announced they will implement stricter border measures for people traveling into the country, including imposing a 14-day mandatory self-quarantine for new visitors traveling from a bloc of East Asian countries, as well as Japan, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

Beginning Monday, people “entering Singapore with recent travel history to ASEAN countries, Japan, Switzerland, or the United Kingdom within the last 14 days will be issued with a 14-day Stay-Home Notice (SHN),” according to a press release from the Health Ministry on Sunday. 

ASEAN is the Association of South East Asian Nations made up of 10 member nations from that region.

Travelers will also have to provide proof of where they stayed during the 14 days and may also be swabbed for coronavirus testing, “even if asymptomatic,” the press release read.

The Ministry also announced any short-term visitors “who are nationals of any ASEAN country will have to submit requisite information on their health to the Singapore Overseas Mission in the country they are resident before their intended date of travel.”

Finally, the Ministry asked all Singaporeans to “defer all non-essential travel abroad.” 

Some context: These additional restrictions follow previous ones by the Singapore government including that starting March 15, all new visitors with recent travel history to France, Germany, Italy and Spain within the last 14 days would not be allowed entry or transit thru Singapore.

Source: CNN News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.