Vietnam is suspending travel from certain European countries, according to a government statement issued Saturday. 

The ban will apply to travelers who have been in 26 European countries, known as the Schengen Area, and the UK in the past 14 days.

Visas upon arrival will also no longer be issued for all foreign nationals, the statement said.

The travel restrictions come into effect at midnight Sunday local time, and will last 30 days.

Vietnam has 32 cases of the coronavirus, 16 of which have been discharged from hospital.

A wave of travel bans: Vietnam’s ban echoes similar ones imposed by the US, Hong Kong, Turkey, Cambodia and other countries in the past few days.

The US and Hong Kong both implemented bans for the Schengen Area. Turkey and Cambodia’s bans didn’t cover as many countries, and singled out several of the hardest-hit European nations, like Spain and Germany.

Source: CNN


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.