More details on northern Italy lockdown


Italian Prime Minister Giuseppe Conte signed a decree early Sunday, which will put most of northern Italy under lockdown due to novel coronavirus.

It’s the toughest measure taken to control the coronavirus outside of mainland China.

The entire Lombardy region is included as well as 14 other provinces.”There will be an obligation to avoid any movement of people who are either entering or leaving these areas,” Conte said. “And even within the areas moving around will occur only for essential work or health reasons.”

Here’s what we know:

The decree applies to: 

  • Lombardy (the whole region)

And the 14 provinces of: 

  • Modena
  • Parma 
  • Piacenza 
  • Reggio Emilia 
  • Rimini 
  • Pesaro e Urbino
  • Venezia 
  • Padova 
  • Treviso 
  • Asti  
  • Alessandria
  • Novara
  • Verbano-Cusio-Ossola
  • Vercelli

While most of northern Italy will be under the new lockdown decree, there are measures that will also apply to the entire country of Italy. 

These include:

• Suspension of theaters and cinema

• Suspension of congress and meetings that involve health care personnel and servants of essential public services

• Suspension of dance schools, pubs, disco and bingo

• Suspension of religious ceremonies, including funerals

• Suspension of sports events

• Suspension of schools and university classes

Conte said that cafes and restaurants can stay open between 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. “on condition that business owners can ensure a safety distance between people of at least one meter. Businesses will be suspended if these conditions are violated.”

Source: CNN


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.